St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London
The St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel was originally opened in 1873 as the Midland Grand Hotel. Designed by George Gilbert Scott.
No cost was spared and the Grand Staircase and rooms were lavishly appointed with gold leaf on the walls and a fireplace in every one of it's 300 rooms. It had Hydraulic lifts and an army of servants to cater for it's guests. It ultimately was too costly to maintain and closed in 1935.
In 2004 planning permission was granted and it re-opened in March 2011 as The St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel refurbished to stand as it was in it's heyday.